May 2019 Compliance Updates
APS reports on relevant, impactful compliance updates each month to help keep you at the top of your compliance game. Updates this month include the release of state unemployment wage bases and state unemployment tax rates, as well as updates to state electronic filing rules. Here are your May compliance updates:
TAX WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCE PHASE-OUT TO START IN 2020
EEO PAY DATA PORTAL TO OPEN IN JULY
IRS SETS 2019 MAXIMUM VALUE FOR EMPLOYER-PROVIDED VEHICLES
SAME-DAY TRANSACTIONS PROCESS TO RECEIVE UPGRADE
IRS ISSUES DRAFT FORM FOR EMPLOYER TIP REPORTING
State Electronic Filing Rules
Wyoming is set to launch an online portal for filing unemployment tax filing and payments starting May 23, 2019. Employers will be able to pay unemployment tax and file the following forms electronically:
- Wyoming Quarterly UI/WC Summary Report (WYO-056)
- Wyoming Employee Wage Listings (WYO-078
The current employer portal, Wyoming Internet Reporting for Employers will be unavailable for filing starting May 15, 2019.
CALIFORNIA ISSUES NEW EMPLOYEE-CONTRACTOR TEST GUIDELINES
COLORADO PASSES BILL TO ALLOW LOCAL MINIMUM WAGES & WAGE THEFT
New Colorado Law Deems Failure to Pay Wages a Theft
Colorado passed a new law reclassifying failure to pay wages as theft. The measure (H.B. 1267) explains that employers refusing to pay a wage claim, falsely denying a wage claim with the intent to not pay, or underpaying the claim or to harass or defraud the person owed the wage is classified as a theft that could be treated as a petty offense, misdemeanor, or felony if the amount of unpaid wages exceeds $2,000. The law will take effect on January 1, 2020.
COLORADO REVISES RULES ON TIP-SHARING NOTICES
CONNECTICUT SENDS MINIMUM WAGE BILL TO SENATE
ILLINOIS TO ENACT PROTECTIONS FOR TIPPED WORKERS
MAINE PASSES NEW BILL ON EMPLOYEE PAID LEAVE
MASSACHUSETTS EXTENDS FAMILY-LEAVE PROGRAM DEADLINES
NEW HAMPSHIRE’S FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE INSURANCE BILL
New Hampshire’s governor issued a veto letter for a paid family and medical leave insurance bill due to the bill’s funding mechanism. The bill would have required all public and private employers in New Hampshire to provide 12 weeks of paid family and medical leave per year to care for a newborn, adopted or foster child; for their own illness; to care for a sick relative or military veteran, or to handle “any qualifying exigency arising from the foreign deployment with the Armed Forces.” The governor proposed a paid family medical leave plan that is income-tax free.
NEW JERSEY EMPLOYER WAGE VIOLATIONS & WORKER-STATUS STANDARDS
New Jersey Reaffirms Worker-Status Standard
New Jersey’s commissioner of the Department of Labor and Workforce Development issued a response to the federal Labor Department Opinion Letter (FLSA2019-6). The letter stated that those working for a virtual marketplace company may be considered independent contractors after the federal labor agency’s six-factor test finds economic independence between the provider and the company. The state’s commissioner reaffirmed that New Jersey will continue presuming that workers are employees unless a three-part test can classify them as independent contractors.
NEW YORK EXPANDS PAID TIME OFF FOR EMPLOYEES TO VOTE
SEVERAL OHIO MUNICIPALITIES TAX RATES TO CHANGE
OREGON INCOME TAX RATES TO DECREASE IN 2020
TENNESSEE REDEFINES WORKER CLASSIFICATION
WASHINGTON STATE NURSES GET GUARANTEED MEAL AND REST BREAKS
How APS can help
APS brings innovation and scalability to modern workforce management. Our clients, their employees, and our partners deserve intuitive technology delivered with personalized service and support. APS understands the challenges organizations of all sizes face, which is why our unified payroll and HR solution is built to address all aspects of the employee lifecycle.
Open enrollment can be chaotic and unorganized. To help you navigate it, we put together a list of open enrollment tips for employers. Find out what they are.