Minimum Wage Rates

APS is your source for up-to-date minimum wage rates by state.

Minimum Wage Rates Explained

The minimum wage is the lowest rate that employers are required to pay their non-exempt employees. There are exceptions, however, if the employee meets certain, state-specific qualifications such as those for tipped employees.

Employers are required to comply with wage and hour laws that regulate minimum wage. In some cases, the state and federal minimum wage will differ, and whichever is higher, must be paid.

It is important to stay up-to-date on any minimum wage changes that occur in your state and ensure you are properly paying your non-exempt employees. We have provided a list of announced minimum wage rates for each state and federal contractors to date. The list also includes scheduled increases for future years.

Please Note: Some cities, counties, state governments, and companies have higher minimum wage rates than the state minimum. Make sure you check with your state department of labor for rates in locations where you conduct business.

How APS can help

The APS report manager makes it easy to determine if any employees are below the minimum wage rate so you are always complaint.

2022 Minimum wage Rates States A-L
2022 Minimum wage Rates States M-N
2022 Minimum wage Rates States O-W

Updated: 10/1/2021

Alabama Minimum WageAlabama: $7.25
(Federal Minimum Wage, no state minimum)
Alaska Minimum WageAlaska: $10.34
Arizona Minimum WageArizona: $12.15
($9.00 for tipped employees)
Arkansas Minimum WageArkansas: $11.00
($2.63 for tipped employees)
California Minimum WageCalifornia: $14.00-$15.00
($14.00 for employers with 25 or fewer employees and $15.00 as of 1/1/2023; $15.00 for employers with 26 or more employees; future increases will be based on CPI beginning 1/1/2023; adjunct faculty members at colleges and universities are classified as professional employees exempt from state wage and hour laws)
Colorado Minimum WageColorado: $12.32
($8.98 for tipped employees)
Connecticut Minimum WageConnecticut: $13.00
($14.00 as of 7/1/2022; $15.00 as of 10/15/2023; future increases will be based on CPI beginning 2023)

Delaware Minimum WageDelaware: $9.25
D.C. Minimum WageDistrict of Columbia: $15.00
(Future increases will be based on CPI)
Florida Minimum WageFlorida: $8.65
($10.00 as of 9/30/2021; $11.00 as of 9/30/2022; $12.00 as of 9/30/2023; $13.00 as of 9/30/2024; $14.00 as of 9/30/2025; $15.00 as of 9/30/2026; future increases will be based on annual indexed increase beginning 9/30/2027)
Georgia Minimum WageGeorgia: $5.15
(Georgia’s state minimum wage rate is $5.15. As the state’s minimum wage is lower than the federal minimum wage, the federal rate applies.)
Hawaii Minimum WageHawaii: $10.10
Idaho Minimum WageIdaho: $7.25
(State minimum wage will automatically follow federal minimum wage.)
Illinois Minimum WageIllinois: $12.00
($13.00 as of 1/1/2023; $14.00 as of 1/1/2024; $15.00 as of 1/1/2025)
Indiana Minimum WageIndiana: $7.25
(State minimum wage will automatically follow federal minimum wage.)
Iowa Minimum WageIowa: $7.25
(State minimum wage will automatically follow federal minimum wage.)
Kansas Minimum WageKansas: $7.25
(State minimum wage will automatically follow federal minimum wage.)
Kentucky Minimum WageKentucky: $7.25
(State minimum wage will automatically follow federal minimum wage.)
Louisiana Minimum WageLouisiana: $7.25
(State minimum wage will automatically follow federal minimum wage.)

Maine Minimum WageMaine: $12.15
(Annual adjustments are tied to the consumer price index.)
Maryland Minimum WageMaryland: $12.20-$12.50
($12.20 for employers with 14 or fewer employees; $12.80 as of 1/1/2023; $13.40 as of 1/1/2024; $14.00 as of 1/1/2025; $14.60 as of 1/1/2026; $15.00 as of 7/1/2026; $12.50 for employers with 15 or more employees; $13.25 as of 1/1/2023; $14.00 as of 1/1/2024; $15.00 as of 1/1/2025.)
Massachusetts Minimum WageMassachusetts: $14.25
($15.00 as of 1/1/2023.)
Michigan Minimum WageMichigan: $9.87
(The hourly minimum wage will rise to $10.10 on 1/1/2023; 1/1/2024 to $10.33; 1/1/2025 to $10.56; 1/1/2026 to $10.80; 1/1/2027 to $11.04; 1/1/2028 to $11.29; 1/1/2029 to $11.54; 1/1/2030 to $11.79; and 1/1/2031 to $12.05.)
Minnesota Minimum WageMinnesota: $8.21-$10.08
($8.21 for employers who gross less than $500,000 annually; $10.08 for employers who gross more than $500,000 annually. Rate increases tied to the CPI.)
Mississippi Minimum WageMississippi: $7.25
(No set state minimum wage. Federal minimum applies.)
Missouri Minimum WageMissouri: $11.15
($12.00 as of 1/1/2023; future increases will be based on indexed annual increase beginning 1/1/2024.)
Montana Minimum WageMontana: $9.20
(Rate increases tied to consumer price index and adjusted no later than September 30 every year.)

Nebraska Minimum WageNebraska: $9.00
(Applicable to employers of 4 or more employees; $6.00 for tipped employees.)
Nevada Minimum WageNevada: $9.50-$10.50
($9.50 for employees with benefits; $10.25 beginning 7/1/2023; $11.00 beginning 7/1/2024; $10.50 for employees without benefits; $11.25 beginning 7/1/2-23; $12.00 beginning 7/1/2024.)
New Hampshire Minimum WageNew Hampshire: $7.25
(No set state minimum wage. Federal minimum applies.)
New Jersey Minimum WageNew Jersey: $11.90-$13.00
($11.90 for employers with 5 or fewer employees; $12.70 as of 1/1/2023; $13.50 as of 1/1/2024; $14.30 as of 1/1/2025; $15.00 as of 1/1/2026; future increases will be based on annual CPI adjustments beginning 1/1/2027; $13.00 for employers with 6 or more employees; $14.00 as of 1/1/2023; $15.00 as of 1/1/2024; future increases will be based on annual CPI adjustments beginning 1/1/2025.)
New Mexico Minimum WageNew Mexico: $11.50
($12.00 as of 1/1/2023.)
New York  Minimum WageNew York: $12.50 -$15.00
($15.00 for employers in Nassau, Suffolk, and Westchester counties as of 12/31/2021; $12.50 for all other New York employers, other than those in NYC and fast food establishments. Some cities (such as NYC) and industries (such as fast food) have higher minimum wages than the state rates. For all regions, once the local wage reaches $15 the rate increase is tied to CPI.)
North Carolina Minimum WageNorth Carolina: $7.25
(No set state minimum wage. Federal minimum applies.)
North Dakota Minimum WageNorth Dakota: $7.25
(No set state minimum wage. Federal minimum applies.)

Ohio Minimum WageOhio: $7.25- $9.30
($7.25 for employers who gross less than $342,000 annually and for those ages 14 and 15; $9.30 for employers who gross more than $342,000 annually; future increases based on annual CPI adjustments.)
Oklahoma Minimum WageOklahoma: $7.25
(State minimum wage will automatically follow federal minimum wage.)
Oregon Minimum WageOregon: $12.00-$14.00
($12.00 for employers in non-urban counties; $12.50 as of 7/1/2023; $12.75 for employers in mid-sized cities, standard rate; $13.50 as of 7/1/2023; $14.00 for employers inside Portland’s Urban Growth Boundary; $14.75 as of 7/1/2023; In July 2023, increases to the “standard rate” of mid-sized cities will be tied to the consumer price index. Rates for employers inside Portland’s Urban Growth Boundary will always be $1.25 over the standard rate and rates for employers in nonurban counties will always be $1 less. Nonurban counties include Baker, Coos, Crook, Curry, Douglas, Gilliam, Grant, Harney, Jefferson, Klamath, Lake, Malheur, Morrow, Sherman, Umatilla, Union, Wallowa, and Wheeler.)
Pennsylvania Minimum WagePennsylvania: $7.25
(No set state minimum wage. Federal minimum applies.)
Rhode Island Minimum WageRhode Island: $11.50
South Carolina Minimum WageSouth Carolina: $7.25
(No set state minimum wage. Federal minimum applies.)
South Dakota Minimum WageSouth Dakota: $9.45
(Rate increases tied to the consumer price index.)
Tennessee Minimum WageTennessee: $7.25
(No set state minimum wage. Federal minimum applies.)
Texas Minimum WageTexas: $7.25
(No set state minimum wage. Federal minimum applies.)
Utah Minimum Wage Utah: $7.25
(No set state minimum wage. Federal minimum applies. State minimum wage will automatically follow federal minimum wage and is reviewed at least every 3 years.)
Vermont Minimum WageVermont: $11.75
(Rate increases tied to the consumer price index.)
Virginia Minimum WageVirginia: $11.00
($12.00 as of 1/1/2023; $13.50 as of 1/1/2025; $15.00 as of 1/1/2026; future increases based on the greater of the federal minimum wage or the adjusted state minimum wage.)
Washington Minimum WageWashington: $13.69
(Future increases based on the consumer price index.)
West Virginia Minimum WageWest Virginia: $7.25-$8.75
($7.25 for employers with fewer than 6 non-exempt employees at any one location; $8.75 for employers with 6 or more non-exempt employees at any one location.)
Wisconsin Minimum WageWisconsin: $7.25
(No set state minimum wage. Federal minimum applies. )
Wyoming Minimum WageWyoming: $7.25
($5.15 if not covered by the FLSA)
Federal Contractors Minimum WageFederal Contractors: $10.35

Request your personalized demo

We’re ready when you are.